Dr. Gary Burch Memorial Safety Award

The National Association of Railroad Passengers is seeking nominations for the Dr. Gary Burch Memorial Safety Award, an annual honor awarded to the railroad worker who has done the most to improve the safety of railroad passengers. The award is bestowed in memory of Dr. Burch, one of eight passengers who died in 1991 when Amtrak's Silver Star derailed.

(Presented by the Burch Family)

PURPOSE To recognize the individual railroad employee judged to have done the most to improve the safety of railroad passengers in 2016. The recipient of the Burch Safety Award will be honored at NARP’s annual Day on the Hill in Washington, D.C., and a $1,000 award from the Burch Family.

ELIGIBILITY All employees of railroads and agencies which operate or contract for the operation of intercity passenger or commuter trains (as distinct from local mass transit) or whose tracks are used by such trains.

NOMINATION CRITERIA The choice of selection criteria shall be the prerogative of each nominating railroad, authority or union, but consideration should be given to the employee who: A. Identifies and reports or corrects a passenger-threatening hazard and thereby prevents a possible accident or serious injury. B. Initiates and fosters (by ideas, programs or other means) an atmosphere that promotes superior safety performance and awareness with respect to railroad passengers

NOTES Organizations are encouraged to submit more than one nomination. This year, as was the case last year, nominations also will be accepted from individuals. Personal acts of heroism shall not be a consideration for this award. The committee is particularly interested in front-line workers whose job description duties are not specifically related to safety (e.g. “Safety Coordinator”), including track inspectors and track workers, and in work "beyond the job description" by all nominees. Please also note that the employee need not be directly involved in the operation of trains—the 2012 award winners were a trio of Amtrak engineers. A nominating carrier need not run passenger trains for its own account; it is enough to simply host passenger trains operated by others. Operation Lifesaver activities should not be the only activity to recommend a candidate.

NOMINATING PROCEDURE Nominations shall be submitted in the form of a typewritten letter not to exceed two pages in length. Nominations recognizing accomplishments in 2016 must be received by Friday, March 3, 2017. They must be sent to:

The National Association of Railroad Passengers
Attn: Burch Award
505 Capitol Court, NE, Suite 300
Washington, DC 20002-7706
Fax: (202) 408-8287 (Voice: 408-8362)
E-mail: sjeansgail[at]narprail.org

Such nominations will be forwarded to the Burch Award Advisory Committee.

Recipients of the Dr. Gary Burch Memorial Safety Award

2016 - Shamonda Jones

Metra (Chicago) Commuter Rail Senior Manager

2012 - Michael Trosino, Steven Chrismer, and Marty Perkins, Sr.

Amtrak Industrial Design Managers

2011 - Blair Slaughter

Amtrak Industrial Design Manager

2010 - John Bernal

Amtrak Mechanical Foreman

2009 - Dwayne Meadows

Norfolk Southern Bridge Supervisor

2008 - John "Jake" Mumford

Amtrak Police Department Detective

2007 - J. Wes Wilkins

Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employes (BMWE) Safety Liaison

2006 - Lanny Wilson, M.D.

Chairman, DuPage Railroad Safety Council

2004 - Steven Tomlinson

Amtrak safety liaison

2003 - Gordon Bowe

Union Pacific conductor

2002 - Henry Marcell

Amtrak engineering safety director

2001 - Damian Garden

Amtrak maintenance-of-way supervisor

2000 - Allan Thomas

Amtrak chef

1999 - J. F. Garrard

Amtrak conductor

1998 - Patrick Corcoran

Union Pacific engineer

1997 - Jolene Molitoris

Federal Railroad Administrator Position N/A

1996 - Lenore Slimbock

Amtrak assistant general manager

1995 - Billy Parker

Amtrak engineer

1994 - Wayne Solomon

Chicago and North Western engineer